About the Doak Walker Collection

An incredible amount of time and talent goes into the Doak Walker Collection, and we wanted to pay tribute to the people involved in bringing Doak's legacy to life, including the man himself.

About Ewell Doak Walker, Jr.

Doak won the 1947 Maxwell Award, the Heisman Trophy, and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame (1959). Walker was a 3-Time All-American in the years 1947, 1948, and 1949.

In his sophomore season, Doak led Spouthern Methodist to the 1947 SWC Championship and a tie vs. Penn State in the Cotton Bowl Classic. His junior year saw Doak once again leading SMU to the 1948 SWC Championship and a win in the Cotton Bowl Classic.

Doak would twice be named the Cotton Bowl Classic MVP, both in 1948 and 1949, while Cotton Bowl Stadium itself would receive the nickname: "The House That Doak Built".

Walker was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1986), while the Doak Walker National Running Back Award, honoring the top collegiate running back each year, was created in his honor.

About James (Brad) Bradley

An absolute legend and innovator in the field of sports photogrpahy, Brad was inducted into the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame in 2007, and has been shooting SMU sports for over 70 years.

After WWII, Bradley joined Laughead Photogrpahy, working with his father-in-law, Jim Laughead, where the duo would go on to legendary careers. The pair photographed college football teams such as TCU, Baylor, Texas, and LSU. AFL/NFL teams included the Texans, Packagers, and Bears. They also photographed for Topps Trading Cards.

The famous sports photogrpahy style of the "huck and buck" was created by Bradley and Laughead.

Brad's photos are a staple of the greatest sports photography of all time.